Mind Over Matter

I concur. I got the Mind Over Matter album and found the consistently high quality of the tracks striking. I tried to choose a handful of other favorite tracks to recommend, but, truly, there is not a bad song on it. They have achieved true unity of sound, great musicianship, and yet dynamic, complex, varied tunes. Many more happy superlatives can apply to Young the Giant and this album. It’s very much worth purchase and further discussion.

Music For The Introspective Soul

Since this is the first post on this blog, I would start with my favourite right now, Young The Giant’s Mind Over Matter. This song by the California based indie band deals with overcoming struggles and was inspired by the bands difficulty in finding their voice after a four year gap since their debut album. The singer’s vulnerability comes through in the lyrics but the song as a whole has an optimistic feel to it. Enjoy the lyrics…

Mind over matter
Does it matter to any of us?
Don’t change the subject
I’m heavy on your love
I missed that train, New York city – it rains!
Fly to east L.A. in big jet planes
You know you’re on my mind

And if the world don’t break
I’ll be shakin’ it
‘Cause I’m a young man after all
And when the seasons change
Will you stand by me?
‘Cause I’m…

View original post 220 more words

Leave a Reply

